Meet the team


Ana Rodrigues

— Junior designer

Giliam Ganzevles

—UX Design

Giliam builds experiences that engage the user through compelling stories and visuals. He’s interested in combining journalism with speculative design to explore new narratives. He’s a lecturer at bachelor Devine and a collector of unintentional good graphic design.


Gleb Bondarenko

—Analytics and Marketing Strategist

Gleb is working on optimizing all of Are We Europe’s marketing channels. Working on inbound and outbound strategies, he ensures better brand awareness and delivering content to the widest audience. When he leaves the office, Gleb shoots movies and designs posters.


Kyrill Hartog


As a Dutch-Russian-Spanish third culture kid with a knack for words and languages, it’s no surprise Kyrill ended up in European journalism. He has written for The Guardian, The Independent and other publications. When he’s not working on Are We Europe’s long term future, he’s locked away in his room producing and recording his own songs.


Marije Martens

–Co-founder and Board member

Mick ter Reehorst

–Co-founder and Managing Director

One of the originals. Since 2015, not a day goes by where Mick doesn’t feel proud of the unique mix of journalism, design and entrepreneurship that Are We Europe has become. Mick oversees most things and is focused on the long run. Audio and multimedia stories make him tick.


Stijn Frankfoorder

—Head of Awe Studio

Stijn wandered around Europe for a while, studying in Amsterdam, Lisbon, and Copenhagen. He can occasionally be found in Brussels at Are We Europe’s HQ. He’s always had a big crush on technology, startups, and journalism. He loves going on adventures and podcast recommendations. Stijn previously worked at Too Good To Go and Frisse Blikken.


Ties Gijzel

–Co-founder and Board Member

Ties co-founded Are We Europe in 2016. Since 2020, he has been on a mission to set up both local and cross-border investigations for Argos, the investigative journalism platform of the Dutch public broadcasters Human and VPRO.